The Super Falcons of Nigeria have won the African Women Cup of Nations for the ninth time after defeating the Banyana Banyana of South-Africa to further consolidate their position as the predominant force in female football in Africa.

The keenly contested match yielded no goal both in regulation time and the additional extra-time of 30 minutes.

In a game of few clear-cut openings, the best chance of the match fell to the Falcons when Bayana Bayana goalkeeper, Kaylin Swart, fouled winger Francesca Ordega in the penalty area. Falcons’ star player, Asisat Oshoala, however, sent her spot-kick wide.

It took a penalty shoot-out, the first in the finals in the history of AWCON, to separate both teams, with Nigeria winning 4-3 after Falcons goalkeeper, Tochukwu Oluehi saved South Africa’s last penalty attempt.

This victory ensures that the Super Falcons have not only won their ninth championship in total but also the last three in a row, after defeating Cameroon in the 2014 and 2016 editions.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here